Gunbox Faq
Shopping Cart

Gunbox Faq

  • For Gunbox 2.0 Wi-Fi Models (Shipped after Feb 1st, 2019)
    How can I tell that my Gunbox 2.0 is “WiFi-Enabled”?

    The Wi-Fi Enabled Gunbox 2.0 will have a numeric keypad on the top of the lid.

    The fingerprint reader will be the swipe-version, identified by two thin metal bars going across the top of the lid on the right-hand side.

    The 2.0 will successfully pair with the Lynkd app, either with a Lite or Pro account.

    How do I set up my new Gunbox 2.0?

    Provided with each order is a folded Quick-Start Manual for your convenience in programming your new Gunbox 2.0. This includes instructions on how to set program fingerprints, the keypad, and extra RFIDs. If you cannot find the manual, it can be viewed and downloaded here.

    To view how certain programming is done, please visit the Video Tutorial page of the Support section on our website.

    If you have any further questions or concerns after looking through our FAQ and video tutorials, feel free to reach out to us at tech.support@thegunbox.com.

    What are the dimensions of the Gunbox 2.0?

    The Gunbox 2.0 interior dimensions are 8.9” L x 6.5” W x 1.5” H

    The Gunbox 2.0 exterior dimensions are 11.6” L x 10.0” W x 2.8” H

    Which handguns will fit inside the Gunbox 2.0?

    Most handguns will fit within The Gunbox 2.0 except for larger caliber pistols or longer-barreled revolvers.

    We highly recommend measuring your handgun before purchasing to make sure it will fit comfortably.

    What will I receive with my new order?

    All Gunbox 2.0’s include: 2 RFID keycards, 2 RFID FOBs, 1 micro-USB charging cord, 1 stop block, and 1 hex wrench.

    The stop block allows the Gunbox 2.0 to be mounted under a desk without the contents falling out.

    Any additional RFIDs including our wristbands, stickers, and rings are available purchase in the Accessories section.

    What kind of battery does the Gunbox 2.0 have? How long will a charge last before it needs to be recharged?

    The Gunbox 2.0 has an internal rechargeable Lithium Polymer battery. The 2.0 charge will normally last up to 3 months before it will need to be charged again. Each 2.0 is provided a power adapter for charging when necessary to avoid over-charging.

    For more information on maintaining your battery, please visit the Battery Section in our FAQs.

    The 2.0 power adapter MUST be plugged in to an outlet for the USB ports on the back to function.

    Can any of the RFID accessories on your site be used with multiple Gunbox units or other models?

    Yes, all of our RFID accessories: wristband, sticker, custom ring, keycard, and fob can be used universally with all of our products.

    Each separate RFID accessory purchase will simply need to be programmed into your model.

    Any additional RFIDs including our wristbands, stickers, and rings are available purchase in the Accessories section.

    What type of material lines the 2.0 on the inside?

    A softer neoprene-like material lines to the inside lid and base. This material helps prevent scratching on both firearm and safe, and helps keep the firearm from shifting around when moved or transported.

    How many fingerprints will the Gunbox 2.0 store?

    The Gunbox 2.0 will store 10 unique fingerprints. When the 10-fingerprint threshold is reached, the Gunbox will flash a red light and buzz when attempting to program a new fingerprint. In order to program a new fingerprint, all previously programmed fingerprints must be deleted.

    What app do I use with the Gunbox 2.0

    The Wi-Fi Enabled Gunbox 2.0 is compatible with the Lynkd app.

    The WiFi-Enabled Gunbox 2.0 will not pair with the SafeTech app, they are not compatible.

    The Lynkd app is available for both Android and Apple phones and can be downloaded for free on each respective store.

    How do I program new RFIDs?

    The Gunbox 2.0 has a 'Learn Button' located on the inside of the lid that allows the user to add and remove RFIDs, fingerprints and keycodes easily without the use of an application.

    The Gunbox 2.0 must be open and not alarming in order to add or remove RFIDs, fingerprints, and keycodes.

    Can the Gunbox 2.0 be mounted?

    Yes, the Gunbox 2.0 can be mounted in any orientation using #10 screws. Divots are located on the bottom of the 2.0 for this purpose and can be drilled out.

    The included Stop Block has been fabricated to restrict the box from opening more than 45 degrees (if mounted upside down or sideways).

    See the owner’s manual for additional mounting instructions.

    How can the Gunbox 2.0 be secured?

    In addition to mounting the Gunbox 2.0, a Kensington Combination Lock can be purchased separately. The Kensington Cable has a 6-foot cord that can be wrapped around an immovable object and attaches to the back of the 2.0 for added security.

    Does the Gunbox 2.0 have USB ports?

    The Gunbox 2.0 has two USB ports on the back of the unit. The 2.0 MUST be plugged in to a power outlet in order to charge phones, tablets, or any other products that are powered or can be charged with a USB port.

    The USB ports WILL NOT function on the 2.0 battery power alone. This prevents damage to the internal lithium battery.

    What is the black clip that was packaged with the Gunbox 2.0?

    The clip or stop block, is used when mounting the Gunbox 2.0 upside down or sideways.

    To install: push the lid down to a 45-degree angle and snap the clip on the middle hinge. This will keep the lid from fully opening and help keep your contents from falling out.

    The 2.0 can be mounted in any orientation using #10 screws. Divots are on the bottom of the 2.0 for this purpose and can be drilled out.

    Can the Gunbox 2.0 be used to transport my firearm while flying? How is it considered an approved container?

    The Gunbox 2.0 is an FAA/TSA Approved Handgun Container for Flight.

    FAA/TSA requirements are as follows:
    1. Is a hard-sided container.
    2. Must be locked using a secure lock that only the passenger has the key.
    3. Firearm must be completely secure from being accessed by others.

    The Gunbox fob, keycard, wristband, ring, or sticker acts as the key for the locked unit and must be with the passenger at all times. FAA/TSA prohibits the carry of a weapon within the airplane cabin.

    Feel free to contact customer service at tech.support@thegunbox.com with any other questions.

    Click here to view all TSA/FAA guidelines.
    Click here for the State of California Department of Justice guidelines.

    Do you offer a Law Enforcement discount?

    We offer a 10% discount for all law enforcement employees. Please send an email using your official police department email address to tech.support@thegunbox.com or you may send using another email address accompanied with a photo of your ID (if permissible) or other qualifying document. Once verified, we will send you a discount code to enter at checkout.

    Do you offer a Military discount?

    We offer a 10% military discount to all Military employees. Please send an email to tech.support@thegunbox.com using your .MIL account. Once verified, we will send you a discount code to enter at checkout.

    What is the Warranty?

    All products including the Gunbox 2.0 are covered under a limited one-year warranty. This limited warranty covers parts and labor from the original date of purchase, and only protects products purchased from our authorized retailers.

    The customer is responsible for shipping the product back to our warehouse for servicing, and we’ll cover the cost of shipping your product back to you (Exceptions: International shipping and HI+AK).

    If a repair or exchange is deemed necessary within the first month after purchasing your Gunbox 2.0, shipping costs will be covered by The Gunbox.

    What is not covered under the standard warranty:
    Any damage sustained to the exterior body or any internal components that cause the Gunbox 2.0 to fail by any misuse or neglect. Such as, disassembly of the Gunbox 2.0, liquid spills, use of an adapter with speculations other than recommended. Any misuse will void the warranty, despite the amount of time left on the existing warranty.

    For more information to best maintain your Gunbox 2.0, please check our Battery FAQ or contact us at tech.support@thegunbox.com.

    What is the Return Policy?

    The return policy is 30-day period from when the unit is initially shipped from our facility.

    In order to receive a full refund, the following criteria must be met:

    1. The customer must contact our customer service at tech.support@thegunbox.com for a Return Merchandise Authorization (RMA) form to print and provide with the order before shipping back to us.

    2. We may refuse a refund if an RMA is not requested and provided prior to sending the order back to us.

    3. The return must be within 30 consecutive days after the date of the shipment. The product must be returned to us in brand new condition.

    4. All accessories (2 keycards, 2 key FOBs, 1 adapter/charging cable, 1 hex wrench) must be provided with the Gunbox 2.0 when returned.

    5. Any extra accessories must be provided in excellent condition when returned in order to receive a full refund.

    6. The customer is responsible for shipping charges to send the order back to our Gunbox warehouse in Utah, USA.

    7. All Gunbox orders purchased through Amazon must go through Amazon and must abide by Amazon’s stated return policy.

    8. A 20% restocking fee will be deducted from a refund if a product is returned blemished (i.e. scratched, dented, or has otherwise been made cosmetically blemished) or damaged, hindering the use of product in any way.

    9. We highly recommend purchasing insurance when sending the product back to our facility.

    *All Open Box, Blemished, or Scratch & Dent units are FINAL SALE ONLY and specified accordingly prior to purchasing. We do not offer any refund or exchange for these marked down units.

    The tracking number says my order was delivered, but it’s not here:

    When initially shipped from our facility in Utah, the customer will receive an automated email confirmation that provides a tracking number. We ship all orders through UPS or USPS only. The tracking number emailed when an order is shipped will determine what shipping carrier your order was sent through.

    We are not responsible for any lost or stolen orders once they have been delivered to the carrier.

    Is there anything I should know when traveling with my Gunbox 2.0?

    In all circumstances, please make sure there is no extra pressure being placed directly on the lid, or more specifically, the white emblem. This will help prevent the Gunbox 2.0 from turning on from sleep mode. Constant pressure on the white emblem can cause the 2.0 to run out of power significantly faster and may cause irreparable damage to the battery.

    It is highly recommended to keep the Gunbox 2.0 out of warmer areas (i.e. hot cars) or direct sunlight for an extended amount of time. When travelling in a car, it’s always best to keep the 2.0 in a shaded area.

    What version of firmware should my Gunbox 2.0 be using?

    The current firmware version is 3.1.12. It is also displayed as “31112” on the Lynkd app. This firmware version allows for better power management on the Gunbox 2.0. If you have updated your firmware recently, you may notice some changes when using your 2.0. Review the manual here.

    To receive instructions on how to update the firmware on your device, please contact us at tech.support@thegunbox.com.

    What is the difference between the Echo and Gunbox 2.0?

    The Echo does not have USB ports on the back of the unit. The Gunbox 2.0 has USB ports that can charge other devices (only when the 2.0 is plugged into a power source).

    The Echo does not have hydraulic shocks on the inside. Because of this, the interior dimensions of the Echo are fairly similar to the Gunbox 2.0.

    The Echo will 'pop' up and needs to be opened the rest of the way manually. The Gunbox 2.0 lifts open automatically using the hydraulic shocks.

    The Gunbox 2.0 has divots that are located on the bottom. These serve as a guide for drilling mounting holes. The Echo will not have these small guiding divots.

    There is a hinge that connects the top and bottom metal together on the back of the Echo. This hinge also prevents the Echo from being opened too far. The Gunbox 2.0 has several hinge points that are not attached to the metal.

    The Gunbox 2.0 can be charged using a 5v 2a charger that has a barrel jack connection, which is included with the purchase. The Echo uses a micro USB connector. The power adapter does not come included with the Echo but will need the same 5v 2a specifications.

    View another comparison page here.

    Why is there a blue LED light on my Gunbox 2.0 when I charge it?

    This is to indicate the Gunbox 2.0 is receiving a charge, and that there is a good connection from the adapter to the 2.0.

    Is there any way to turn off the LED light while charging?

    Currently there is no way to turn this LED light off while charging. For tips on how to cover this light while charging, please contact our tech support at tech.support@thegunbox.com.

    We strongly encourage letting your Gunbox 2.0 run directly off the battery power. This will maintain battery life.

    There is no LED light when I unplug the Gunbox 2.0. Why can’t I open it?

    One difference between the current firmware than most we’ve offered in the past is that you will now need to wake the Gunbox 2.0 from sleep mode before opening with your RFID card, fingerprint, or keycode.

    You can wake the Gunbox 2.0 by pressing the white emblem on the top of the 2.0. This will help maintain the power level and elongate the battery life.

    How long should I keep my Gunbox 2.0 charging for?

    We recommend keeping your Gunbox 2.0 plugged into the provided adapter for 6 hours. This is a full charge and will last approximately up to 3 months*.

    *This depends on many factors, including the current firmware on the Gunbox 2.0, amount of use, and if the 2.0 is configured through Wi-Fi to receive mobile alerts.

    *The current firmware available is version 3.1.12.

    Will I need to turn on my alarm every time I want to receive tamper notifications with my pro account?

    Yes, you will need to turn the alarm on in order to receive either a push notification or text message if the Gunbox 2.0 were to be tampered with.

    Please note that in order to receive notifications on your phone, you’ll need to set the customizations up directly through the app and on your personal portal through Lynkd.com.

    With every separate order for mobile alerts, our technical support team sends customized instructions to the email address linked to the order created through www.thegunbox.com. These instructions may end up in spam. If you do not see these instructions, please contact us at tech.support@thegunbox.com.

    How do I receive mobile alerts?

    Mobile Alerts for tampering and low battery are part of a paid subscription available for purchase through our website. For more information click here.

  • For Gunbox Echo Wi-Fi Models (Shipped after Feb 1st, 2019)
    How can I tell that my Gunbox Echo is “WiFi-Enabled”?

    The Wi-Fi Enabled Gunbox Echo will have a numeric keypad on the top of the lid.

    The fingerprint reader will be the swipe-version, identified by two thin metal bars going across the top of the lid on the right-hand side.

    The Echo will successfully pair with the Lynkd app, either with a Lite or Pro account.

    What will I receive with my new order?

    All Gunbox Echo models are provided with 2 RFID keycards, 2 RFID FOBs, 1 micro-USB charging cord, and 1 hex wrench.

    Any additional RFIDs including our wristbands, stickers, and rings are available purchase in the Accessories section.

    What is the difference between the Echo and Gunbox 2.0?

    The Gunbox Echo does not have USB ports on the back of the unit. The Gunbox 2.0 has USB ports that can charge other devices (only when the 2.0 is plugged into a power source).

    The Gunbox Echo does not have hydraulic shocks on the inside. Because of this, the interior dimensions of the Echo are fairly similar to the Gunbox 2.0.

    The Gunbox Echo will 'pop' up and needs to be opened the rest of the way manually. The Gunbox 2.0 lifts open automatically using the hydraulic shocks.

    The Gunbox 2.0 has divots that are located on the bottom. These serve as a guide for drilling mounting holes. The Echo will not have these small guiding divots.

    There is a hinge that connects the top and bottom metal together on the back of the Echo. This hinge also prevents the Echo from being opened too far. The Gunbox 2.0 has several hinge points that are not attached to the metal.

    The Gunbox 2.0 can be charged using a 5v 2a charger that has a barrel jack connection, which is included with the purchase. The Echo uses a micro USB connector. The power adapter does not come included with the Echo but will need the same 5v 2a specifications.

    View another comparison page here.

    How do I set up my new Gunbox Echo?

    Provided with each order is a folded Quick-Start Manual for your convenience in programming your new Gunbox Echo. This includes instructions on how to set program fingerprints, the keypad, and extra RFIDs.

    To view how certain programing is done, please visit the Video Tutorial page of the Support section on our website.

    If you have any further questions or concerns after looking through our FAQ and video tutorials, feel free to reach out to us at tech.support@thegunbox.com.

    What are the dimensions of the Gunbox Echo?

    The interior dimensions of the Gunbox Echo are 8.5” L x 7.25” W x 2.13” H.

    The exterior dimensions of the Echo are 9.3” L x 8.13” W x 2.7” H.

    Which handguns will fit inside the Gunbox Echo?

    Most handguns will fit within The Gunbox Echo except for larger caliber pistols or longer-barreled revolvers.

    We highly recommend measuring your handgun before purchasing to make sure it will fit comfortably.

    Why is there a blue LED light on my Gunbox Echo when I charge it?

    This is to indicate the Gunbox Echo is receiving a charge, and that there is a good connection from the adapter to the Echo.

    *We recommend using a 5V 2A charger with the Gunbox Echo.

    Is there any way to turn off the LED light while charging?

    Currently there is no way to turn this LED light off while charging. For tips on how to cover this light while charging, please contact our tech support at tech.support@thegunbox.com.

    We strongly encourage letting your Gunbox Echo run directly off the battery power. This will maintain battery life.

    There is no LED light when I unplug the Gunbox Echo. Why can’t I open it?

    One difference between the current firmware than most we’ve offered in the past is that you will now need to wake the Gunbox Echo from sleep mode before opening with your RFID card, fingerprint, or keycode. You can wake the Gunbox Echo by pressing the white emblem on the top of the Echo.

    This will help maintain the power level and elongate the battery life.

    How long should I keep my Gunbox Echo charging for?

    We recommend keeping your Gunbox Echo plugged into the provided adapter for 6 hours. This is a full charge and will last approximately up to 3 months*.

    *This depends on many factors, including the current firmware on the Gunbox Echo, amount of use, and if the Echo is configured through Wi-Fi to receive mobile alerts.

    *The current firmware available is version 3.1.12.

    *We recommend using a 5V 2A charger with the Gunbox Echo.

    Will I need to turn on my alarm every time I want to receive tamper notifications with my pro account?

    Yes, you will need to turn the alarm on in order to receive either a push notification or text message if the Gunbox Echo were to be tampered with.

    Please note that in order to receive notifications on your phone, you’ll need to set the customizations up directly through the app and on your personal portal through Lynkd.com.

    With every separate order for mobile alerts, our technical support team sends customized instructions to the email address linked to the order created through www.thegunbox.com. These instructions may end up in spam. If you do not see these instructions, please contact us at tech.support@thegunbox.com.

    How do I receive mobile alerts?

    Mobile Alerts for tampering and low battery are part of a paid subscription available for purchase through our website. For more information click here.

    What app should I be using with my Gunbox Echo?

    The Gunbox Echo is compatible with the Lynkd app. The lite version of the Lynkd application is primarily used to update the firmware when an update becomes available to the public.

    The Lynkd app also allows customers who purchase mobile alerts the ability to receive tamper/low battery alerts sent directly from the Gunbox to your phone. For more information on the pro account, click here.

    What version of firmware should my Gunbox Echo be using?

    The current firmware version is 3.1.12. It is also displayed as “31112” on the Lynkd app.

    This firmware version allows for better power management on the Gunbox Echo. If you have updated your firmware recently, you may notice some changes when using your Echo. Review the manual here.

    To receive instructions on how to update the firmware on your device, please contact us at tech.support@thegunbox.com.

    Can the Gunbox Echo be used to transport my firearm while flying? How is it considered an approved container?

    The Echo is an FAA/TSA Approved Handgun Container for Flight.

    FAA/TSA requirements are as follows:
    1. Is a hard-sided container.
    2. Must be locked using a secure lock that only the passenger has the key.
    3. Firearm must be completely secure from being accessed by others.

    The Gunbox Echo fob, keycard, wristband, ring, or sticker acts as the key for the locked unit and must be with the passenger at all times. FAA/TSA prohibits the carry of a weapon within the airplane cabin.

    Feel free to contact customer service at tech.support@thegunbox.com with any other questions.

    Click here to view all TSA/FAA guidelines.
    Click here for the State of California Department of Justice guidelines.

    Is there anything I should know when traveling with my Gunbox Echo?

    In all circumstances, please make sure there is no extra pressure being placed directly on the lid, or more specifically, the white emblem. This will help prevent the Gunbox Echo from turning on from sleep mode. Constant pressure on the white emblem can cause the Echo to run out of power significantly faster and may cause irreparable damage to the battery. It is highly recommended to keep the Gunbox Echo out of warmer areas (i.e. hot cars) or direct sunlight for an extended amount of time. When travelling in a car, it’s always best to keep the Echo in a shaded area.

    Can any of the RFID accessories on your site be used with multiple Gunbox Echo units or other models?

    Yes, all of our RFID accessories: wristband, sticker, custom ring, keycard, and fob can be used universally with all of our products.

    Each separate RFID purchase will simply need to be programmed into your model.

    Can one RFID be programmed into multiple Gunbox products?

    Yes, one RFID card can be programmed into multiple Gunbox products.

    All separately purchased RFID accessories will not come pre-programmed into your Gunbox product; you will need to program them once you receive the new RFID accessory.

    What type of material lines the inside of the Gunbox Echo?

    A softer neoprene-like material lines to the inside lid and base. This material helps prevent scratching on both firearm and safe and helps keep the firearm from shifting around when moved or transported.

    How many fingerprints will the Gunbox Echo store?

    The Gunbox Echo will hold up to 10 unique fingerprints. If there are already 10 fingerprints stored, the Echo will flash a red light, indicating that it will not hold a new fingerprint. If this is the case, all fingerprints must be deleted before adding a new fingerprint.

    How many RFID’s will the Gunbox Echo store?

    The Gunbox Echo will hold up to 10 different RFID’s. If there are already 10 RFID’s stored, the Echo will flash a red light, indicating that it will not hold a new RFID. If this is the case, all RFID’s must be deleted before adding a new RFID.

    How many keycodes will the Gunbox Echo store?

    The Gunbox Echo will only hold 1 unique keycode.

    If there is already a stored keycode, the Echo will flash a red light, indicating that it will not hold a new keycode. If this is the case, the previously programmed keycode must be deleted before adding a new keycode.

    What kind of battery does the Gunbox Echo have? How long will a charge last before it needs to be recharged?

    The Gunbox Echo has an internal rechargeable Lithium Polymer battery. The Echo charge will normally last up to 3 months before it will need to be charged again.

    For more information on maintaining your battery, please visit the Battery Section in our FAQs.

    We recommend using a 5V 2A charger with the Gunbox Echo.

    How do I program new RFIDs?

    The Gunbox Echo has a Learn Button located on the inside of the lid that allows the user to add and remove RFIDs, fingerprints and keycodes easily without the use of an application.

    The Gunbox Echo must be open and not alarming in order to add or remove RFIDs, fingerprints, and keycodes.

    How can the Gunbox Echo be secured?

    In addition to mounting the Gunbox Echo, a Tether Cable can be purchased separately. The Tether Cable has a 6-foot cord that can be to wrapped around an immovable object and attaches to the back of the Echo for added security.

    Do you offer a Law Enforcement discount?

    We offer a 10% discount for all law enforcement employees. Please send an email using your official police department email address to tech.support@thegunbox.com or you may send using another email address accompanied with a photo of your ID (if permissible) or other qualifying document. Once verified, we will send you a discount code to enter at checkout.

    Do you offer a Military discount?

    We offer a 10% military discount to all Military employees. Please send an email to tech.support@thegunbox.com using your .MIL account. Once verified, we will send you a discount code to enter at checkout.

    What is the Warranty?

    All products including the Gunbox Echo are covered under a limited one-year warranty. This limited warranty covers parts and labor from the original date of purchase, and only protects products purchased from our authorized retailers.

    The customer is responsible for shipping the product back to our warehouse for servicing, and we’ll cover the cost of shipping your product back to you (Exceptions: International shipping and HI+AK).

    If a repair or exchange is deemed necessary within the first month after purchasing your Gunbox Echo, shipping costs will be covered by The Gunbox.

    What is not covered under the standard warranty:
    Any damage sustained to the exterior body or any internal components that cause the Gunbox Echo to fail by any misuse or neglect due to:

    Any disassembly of the Gunbox Echo, liquid spills, use of an adapter with speculations other than recommended will void the warranty, despite the amount of time left on the existing warranty.

    For more information to best maintain your Gunbox Echo, please check our Battery FAQ or contact us at tech.support@thegunbox.com.

    What is the Return Policy?

    The return policy is 30-day period from when the unit is initially shipped from our facility.

    In order to receive a full refund, the following criteria must be met:

    1. The customer must contact our customer service at tech.support@thegunbox.com for a Return Merchandise Authorization (RMA) form to print and provide with the order before shipping back to us.

    2. We may refuse a refund if an RMA is not requested and provided prior to sending the order back to us. 3. The return must be within 30 consecutive days after the date of the shipment. The product must be returned to us in brand new condition.

    4. All accessories (2 keycards, 2 key FOBs, 1 adapter/charging cable, 1 hex wrench) must be provided with the Gunbox Echo when returned.

    5. Any extra accessories must be provided in excellent condition when returned in order to receive a full refund.

    6. The customer is responsible for shipping charges to send the order back to our Gunbox warehouse in Utah, USA.

    7. All Gunbox orders purchased through Amazon must go through Amazon and must abide by Amazon’s stated return policy.

    8. A 20% restocking fee will be deducted from a refund if a product is returned blemished (i.e. scratched, dented, or has otherwise been made cosmetically blemished) or damaged, hindering the use of product in any way.

    9. We highly recommend purchasing insurance when sending the product back to our facility.

    *All Open Box, Blemished, or Scratch & Dent units are FINAL SALE ONLY and specified accordingly prior to purchasing. We do not offer any refund or exchange for these marked down units.

    The tracking number says my order was delivered, but it’s not here.

    When initially shipped from our facility in Utah, the customer will receive an automated email confirmation that provides a tracking number. We ship all orders through UPS or USPS only. The tracking number emailed when an order is shipped will determine what shipping carrier your order was sent through.

    We are not responsible for any lost or stolen orders once they have been delivered to the carrier.

  • Coming Soon!
  • How do I open the QuickBolt/Doorlock?

    The Quicklock/Doorlock opens using Bluetooth capabilities within your smartphone. The Lynkd app can be downloaded to connect with the QuickBolt/Doorlock.

    RFID can be used to open the QuickBolt/Doorlock as well. RFID accessories are also available in the form of a ring, wristband, sticker, keycard or a FOB. Additional RFID accessories can be purchased separately here.

    What will I receive with my new order?

    The QuickBolt/Doorlock comes standard with 2 RFID Keycards, 2 FOBs, and installation hardware.

    Additional RFID accessories can be purchased separately here.

    Can multiple RFID accessories be used to open the QuickBolt/Doorlock?

    Yes, multiple RFID accessories can also be programmed to open one QuickBolt/Doorlock.

    What type of RFID Chip is used with the QuickBolt/Doorlock?

    The QuickBolt/Doorlock uses ISO15693 at 13.56Mhz for all RFID accessories. These are industry standard, but they are not the most common type of RFID chip technology available. We suggest purchasing all RFID accessories from the www.thegunbox.com as these accessories will work seamlessly with our products.

    For more information, please contact customer support at tech.support@thegunbox.com.

    What kind of battery does the QuickBolt/Doorlock have? How long will it last?

    The QuickBolt/Doorlock uses 4 user installed AAA batteries.

    The QuickBolt/Doorlock will last up to 6 months on a set of new AAA batteries.

    What is the Warranty?

    All products including the QuickBolt/Doorlock are covered under a limited one-year warranty. This limited warranty covers parts and labor from the original date of purchase, and only protects products purchased from our authorized retailers.

    The customer is responsible for shipping the product back to our warehouse for servicing, and we’ll cover the cost of shipping your product back to you (Exceptions: International shipping and HI+AK).

    If a repair or exchange is deemed necessary within the first month after purchasing your QuickBolt/Doorlock, shipping costs will be covered by The Gunbox.

    What is not covered under the standard warranty:
    Any damage sustained to the exterior body or any internal components that cause the QuickBolt/Doorlock to fail by any misuse or neglect. Such as, disassembly of the QuickBolt/Doorlock, liquid spills, use of an adapter with speculations other than recommended. Any misuse will void the warranty, despite the amount of time left on the existing warranty.

    For more information to best maintain your QuickBolt/Doorlock, please check our Battery FAQ or contact us at tech.support@thegunbox.com.

    What is the Return Policy?

    The return policy is 30-day period from when the unit is initially shipped from our facility.

    In order to receive a full refund, the following criteria must be met:

    1. The customer must contact our customer service at tech.support@thegunbox.com for a Return Merchandise Authorization (RMA) form to print and provide with the order before shipping back to us.

    2. We may refuse a refund if an RMA is not requested and provided prior to sending the order back to us.

    3. The return must be within 30 consecutive days after the date of the shipment. The product must be returned to us in brand new condition.

    4. All accessories (2 keycards, 2 key FOBs, 1 adapter/charging cable, 1 hex wrench) must be provided with the QuickBolt/Doorlock when returned.

    5. Any extra accessories must be provided in excellent condition when returned in order to receive a full refund.

    6. The customer is responsible for shipping charges to send the order back to our Gunbox warehouse in Utah, USA.

    7. All Gunbox orders purchased through Amazon must go through Amazon and must abide by Amazon’s stated return policy.

    8. A 20% restocking fee will be deducted from a refund if a product is returned blemished (i.e. scratched, dented, or has otherwise been made cosmetically blemished) or damaged, hindering the use of product in any way.

    9. We highly recommend purchasing insurance when sending the product back to our facility.

    *All Open Box, Blemished, or Scratch & Dent units are FINAL SALE ONLY and specified accordingly prior to purchasing. We do not offer any refund or exchange for these marked down units.

    How to know if the QuickBolt/Doorlock battery is low?

    A red light will start blinking when the charge drops below 40%. The red light is only seen after pressing the power button. When the power button is pressed, the QuickBolt/Doorlock will flash red and blue while powered on. This gives you ample time to change the batteries.

    How do I open the QuickBolt/Doorlock if the battery loses power?

    If the QuickBolt/Doorlock won't open due to battery power, try changing the batteries.

    The QuickBolt/Doorlock will always open from the interior side of the lock. This will prevent someone from being locked inside. If you are locked out of a room, please contact customer support at tech.support@thegunbox.com for instructions on drilling out the lock.

    How do I program a new RFID accessory to the QuickBolt/Doorlock?

    Programming a new RFID accessory is a snap! Use a current programmed RFID to open the QuickBolt/Doorlock by pressing the black button (power button) on the front of the QuickBolt/Doorlock and waving the current programmed RFID over the black area. Once the green light appears, immediately push the black button once and "wave" a new RFID over the black area. The new RFID can now be used to open the QuickBolt/Doorlock.

    RFID accessories can also be adding using the Lynkd app. For more information view the respective manual. For QuickBolt click here. For Doorlock click here.

    Will the QuickBolt/Doorlock Auto-Lock?

    The Doorlock will auto-lock, but the QuickBolt will ONLY lock once the knob is manually turned. The Doorlock was engineered in this fashion, removing the barriers and problems that other battery operated doorlocks have. One main issue with other locks is the Deadbolt mechanism. When the battery is low or the jam is misaligned, the deadbolt will not lock. With a manual lock, the door is guaranteed to be locked.

    The Doorlock can be switched between auto-lock and stay open mode. For instructions, view the manual here. It is referred to as 'persistent lock mode' in the manual.

  • How do I open the Quicklock?

    The Quicklock opens using Bluetooth capabilities within your smartphone. The Lynkd app can be downloaded to connect with the Quicklock.

    RFID can be used to open the Quicklock as well. RFID accessories are also available in the form of a ring, wristband, sticker, keycard or a FOB. Additional RFID accessories can be purchased separately here.

    What will I receive with my new order?

    The Quicklock comes standard with 2 RFID Keycards, 1 FOB, and 1 micro USB cable.

    Additional RFID accessories can be purchased separately here.

    Can multiple RFID keys be used to open one Quicklock?

    Yes, multiple RFID accessories can also be programmed to open one Quicklock.

    What type of RFID Chip is used with the Quicklock?

    The Quicklock uses ISO15693 at 13.56Mhz for all RFID accessories. These are industry standard, but they are not the most common type of RFID chip technology available. We suggest purchasing all RFID accessories from the www.thegunbox.com as these accessories will work seamlessly with our products.

    For more information, please contact customer support at tech.support@thegunbox.com.

    What kind of battery does the Quicklock have? How long will it last?

    The Quicklock comes with an internal, Lithium Polymer battery.

    The Battery is rechargeable. On a full charge, the battery can last up to 2 years.

    What is the Warranty?

    All products including the Quicklock are covered under a limited one-year warranty. This limited warranty covers parts and labor from the original date of purchase, and only protects products purchased from our authorized retailers.

    The customer is responsible for shipping the product back to our warehouse for servicing, and we’ll cover the cost of shipping your product back to you (Exceptions: International shipping and HI+AK).

    If a repair or exchange is deemed necessary within the first month after purchasing your Quicklock, shipping costs will be covered by The Gunbox.

    What is not covered under the standard warranty:
    Any damage sustained to the exterior body or any internal components that cause the Quicklock to fail by any misuse or neglect. Such as, disassembly of the Quicklock, liquid spills, use of an adapter with speculations other than recommended. Any misuse will void the warranty, despite the amount of time left on the existing warranty.

    For more information to best maintain your Quicklock, please check our Battery FAQ or contact us at tech.support@thegunbox.com.

    What is the Return Policy?

    The return policy is 30-day period from when the unit is initially shipped from our facility.

    In order to receive a full refund, the following criteria must be met:

    1. The customer must contact our customer service at tech.support@thegunbox.com for a Return Merchandise Authorization (RMA) form to print and provide with the order before shipping back to us.

    2. We may refuse a refund if an RMA is not requested and provided prior to sending the order back to us.

    3. The return must be within 30 consecutive days after the date of the shipment. The product must be returned to us in brand new condition.

    4. All accessories (2 keycards, 2 key FOBs, 1 adapter/charging cable, 1 hex wrench) must be provided with the Quicklock when returned.

    5. Any extra accessories must be provided in excellent condition when returned in order to receive a full refund.

    6. The customer is responsible for shipping charges to send the order back to our Gunbox warehouse in Utah, USA.

    7. All Gunbox orders purchased through Amazon must go through Amazon and must abide by Amazon’s stated return policy.

    8. A 20% restocking fee will be deducted from a refund if a product is returned blemished (i.e. scratched, dented, or has otherwise been made cosmetically blemished) or damaged, hindering the use of product in any way.

    9. We highly recommend purchasing insurance when sending the product back to our facility.

    *All Open Box, Blemished, or Scratch & Dent units are FINAL SALE ONLY and specified accordingly prior to purchasing. We do not offer any refund or exchange for these marked down units.

    What size is the Quicklock shackle?

    The Quicklock shackle has the following measurements: Shackle - .28” Height – 3.78” Width – 2.37” Depth – 1.3”

    Is the Quicklock Battery Rechargeable?

    The Quicklock battery can be recharged using a standard micro USB cable plugged into an USB powered outlet such as a power supply, laptop, or car charger.

    How to know if the Quicklock battery is low?

    A red light will start blinking when the charge on the battery drops below 40%. The red light is only seen after pressing the power button. When the power button is pressed, the Quicklock will flash red and blue while powered on. This gives you ample time to charge the battery.

    Once a full charge is reached, the red light will remain solid. (Keep in mind, the red light turns off once the micro USB cable had been disconnected from a power source!)

    How do I open the Quicklock if the battery loses power?

    If the Quicklock won't open due to battery power, then plug in any standard micro USB cable for a few minutes. This will charge the Quicklock enough to remove it from its location.

    Before returning the Quicklock to its locked location, we recommend charging the Quicklock for 2 hours. Once a full charge is reached, the red light will no longer blink.

    How do I program a new RFID accessory to the Quicklock?

    The Quicklock can only add new accessories using the Lynkd app. To view instructions on how to do this, view the manual here.

    What is the Temperature Rating?

    The Quicklock will function between the following: Celsius: -22C to 65C Fahrenheit: -7F to 150F

  • For Models: GB Plus and 2.0 (Shipped after May 7th, 2018)
    Q: How do I set up my new 2.0 or GB Plus?

    Please visit the video tutorial section for any questions on how to set up your new 2.0 or GB Plus.

    Q: What are the dimensions of The NEW 2.0 or GB Plus?

    NEW 2.0 or GBplus Inside dimensions - 8.9in Length x 6.5in W x 1.5in Height NEW 2.0 or GBplus Outside dimensions: 11.6in Length x 10.0in Width x 2.7in Height

    Q: Which handguns will fit inside The NEW 2.0 or GBplus?

    Most handguns will fit within The NEW 2.0 or GBplus except for a few larger caliber pistols and some revolvers. We recommend measuring your handgun before purchasing to make sure your firearm will fit.

    Q: What kind of battery does the NEW 2.0 or GBplus have? How long will a charge last before it needs to be recharged?

    The NEW 2.0 or GBplus has an internal “RECHARGEABLE” Lithium Polymer battery. The NEW 2.0 or NEW 2.0 or GBplus charge will normally last 4 to 6 months before it will need to be charged again. The NEW 2.0 or GBplus includes a power adapter to charge the unit. The NEW 2.0 or GBplus comes with 2 USB charging ports as well. The NEW 2.0 or GBplus power adapter MUST be plugged in to an outlet in order for the USB ports on the back to function.

    Q: What RFiD key tags are included with The NEW 2.0 or GBplus?

    Your NEW 2.0 or GBplus purchase includes 2 RFID Keycards and 2 Fobs. Any additional RFID’s: wristbands, sticker labels, and custom rings are available for purchase in the SHOP section.

    Q: Will any of the RF accessories on your site be used with multiple Gunbox units?

    Yes, all of our RF accessories: wristband, sticker label, custom ring, keycard, and fob can be used universally with all of our products. The RFID accessory will simply need to be programmed.

    Q: Is the RFID wristband, custom ring, fob, and keycard "waterproof?"

    Yes, our RFID wristband, custom ring, keycard, and fob are waterproof. Feel free to swim, shower, or get them wet.

    Q: What type of material lines the inside of The NEW 2.0 or GBplus?

    A neoprene type of material is attached to the inside lid and bottom of The NEW 2.0 or GBplus in order to prevent scratching and keeps the gun from moving around.

    Q: What material is the wristband made of?

    The wristband is made with medical grade silicone with a hard plastic shell to hold the RFID chip. Metal cannot be used as it interferes with the RFID frequency.

    Q: How many fingerprints will The NEW 2.0 or GBplus hold?

    The Gunbox 2.0 will hold 10 unique fingerprints.

    Q: Does the NEW 2.0 or GBplus connect to the Safetech App?

    No, The NEW 2.0 or GBplus does not need to be configured through the App. The NEW 2.0 or GBplus has an internal Learn Button that allows the user to add and remove tags, fingerprints and key codes easily without the use of an App.

    Q: Can The NEW 2.0 or GBplus be mounted?

    Yes, The NEW 2.0 or GBplus can be mounted in any orientation using #10 screws. Divots are located in the bottom of The NEW 2.0 or GBplus for this purpose and can be drilled out. A clip has been fabricated to restrict the box from opening more than 45 degrees if mounted upside down or sideways. See the owner’s manual for additional mounting instructions.

    Q: How can The NEW 2.0 or GBplus be secured?

    A Kensington Combination Lock has a 6’ cord that can be to wrapped around an immovable object and attaches to The NEW 2.0 or GBplus for added security in your home or car.

    Q: What type of RF Chip is used with The NEW 2.0 or GBplus?

    The NEW 2.0 or GBplus uses ISO15693 at13.56Mhz for the tags and reader. These are industry standard tags, but they are not the most common type of RFID technology available. For more information, please contact customer support at cs@thegunbox.com.

    Q: What type of materials can I affix the sticker label to?

    You can affix the sticker label to any surface except metal. Metal interferes with the frequency and may not open The NEW 2.0 or GBplus. The sticker label may not function properly if applied to a mobile phone made of metal or other metal composites.

    Q: Does The NEW 2.0 or GBplus have USB ports?

    The NEW 2.0 or GBplus has to be plugged in to a power outlet in order to charge phones, tablets, or any other products that are powered or can be charged with a USB port.

    Q: What is the black clip that was packaged with The NEW 2.0 or GBplus and can I mount my NEW 2.0 or GBplus?

    The clip is used when mounting The NEW 2.0 or GBplus upside down or sideways. Push the lid down to a 45 degree angle and snap the clip in the middle hinge. This will keep the lid from fully opening and keep your gun from falling out. The NEW 2.0 or GBplus can be mounted in any orientation using #10 screws. Divots are located in the bottom of The NEW 2.0 or GBplus for this purpose and can be drilled out.

    Q: Can The NEW 2.0 or GBplus be used to transport my firearm while flying? How is it considered an approved container?

    The NEW 2.0 or GBplus is an FAA/TSA Approved Handgun Container for Flight. FAA/TSA requirements are as follows: 1. Is a hard-sided container. 2. Must be locked using a secure lock that only the passenger has the key. - 3. Firearm must be completely secure from being accessed by others. The Gunbox wristband, ring, or label acts as the key for the locked unit and must be with the passenger at all times FAA/TSA prohibits the carry of a weapon within the airplane cabin. Feel free to contact customer service at CS@thegunbox.com with any other questions. Click here to view all TSA/FAA guidelines: https://www.tsa.gov/travel/transporting-firearms-and-ammunition. State of California Dept. of Justice - http://safetydevice.doj.ca.gov/dsearch2.asp?select=fmake http://mwne.ws/1tr0QbY

    Q: Do you offer a Law Enforcement discount?

    We offer a 10% discount for all law enforcement employees. Please send an email using your official police department email address to info@thegunbox.com or you may send using another email address accompanied with a photo of your ID (if permissible) or other qualifying document. Once verified, we will send you a discount code to enter at checkout.

    Q: Do you offer a Military discount?

    We offer a 10% military discount to all Military employees. Please send an email to info@thegunbox.com using your .MIL account. Once verified, we will send you a discount code to enter at checkout.

    Q: Warranty Period

    The NEW 2.0 or GBplus will have a warranty period of 1 year from the date the unit is shipped.

    Q: Return Policy

    The return policy will be for a period of 30 days from when the unit ships. Customer will be responsible for return shipping and handling to our facility. The NEW 2.0 or GBplus must be returned back to us in brand new pristine condition. A partial refund will be given if scratched, dented or damaged. An RMA number must be issued in order to return your product. Please email customer service at cs@thegunbox.com to request an RMA number.

  • For Models: Echo Plus and Echo (Shipped after May 7th, 2018)
    Q: How do I set up my Echo Plus or Echo Model?

    Please visit our video tutorial section for questions on how to set up your Echo Plus and Echo Model.

    Q: What are the dimensions of the Echo Plus and Echo Model?

    ECHOplus and ECHO Model inside dimensions: 8.5” Length x 7.25” Width x 2.13” Height ECHOplus and ECHO Model outside dimensions: 9.28” Length x 8.13” Width x 2.57” Height

    Q: Which handguns will fit inside The ECHOplus and ECHO Model?

    Most service handguns will fit within The ECHOplus and ECHO Model except for a few larger caliber pistols and some revolvers. We recommend measuring your handgun before purchasing to make sure your firearm will fit.

    Q: What kind of battery does the ECHOplus and ECHO Model have? How long will it last?

    The ECHOplus and ECHO Model has an internal Lithium Polymer battery. The ECHOplus and ECHO Model will last about 4-6 months before it will need to be charged. The ECHOplus and ECHO Model will come with a charging cable. Simply plug the USB end into a USB wall adapter to charge your ECHOplus and ECHO Model.

    Q: What RFiD key tags are included with The ECHOplus and ECHO Model?

    Your ECHOplus and ECHO Model purchase includes 2 RFID Keycards and 2 Fobs. Any additional RFID’s: wristbands, sticker labels, and custom rings are available for purchase in the SHOP section.

    Q: Can any of the RF accessories on your site be used with multiple GunBox units?

    Yes, all of our RF accessories: wristband, sticker label, custom ring, keycard, and fob can be used universally with all of our products. The RFID accessory will simply need to be programmed.

    Q: Is the RFID wristband, custom ring, fob, and keycard "waterproof?"

    Yes, our RFID wristband, custom ring, keycard, and fob are waterproof. Feel free to swim, shower, or get them wet.

    Q: What type of material lines the inside of The ECHOplus and ECHO Model?

    A neoprene type of material is attached to the inside lid and bottom of the Echo in order to prevent scratching and keeps the gun from moving around.

    Q: What material is the wristband made of?

    The wristband is made with medical grade silicone with a hard plastic shell to hold the RFID chip. Metal cannot be used as it interferes with the RFID frequency.

    Q: How many fingerprints will The ECHOplus and ECHO Model hold?

    The GunBox Echo will hold 10 unique fingerprints.

    Q: Does the ECHOplus and ECHO Model connect to the Safetech App?

    No, The ECHOplus and ECHO Model does not need to be configured through the App. The ECHOplus and ECHO Model has an internal Learn Button that allows the user to add and remove tags, fingerprints and key codes easily without an App.

    Q: Can The ECHOplus and ECHO Model be mounted?

    A security tether cable has a 6’ cord that can be wrapped around an immovable object and attaches to The Echo for added security for your home or car.

    Q: What type of RF Chip is used with The ECHOplus and ECHO Model?

    The Gun Box 2.0 uses ISO15693 at13.56Mhz for the tags and reader. These are industry standard tags, but they are not the most common type of RFID technology available. For more information, please contact customer support at cs@thegunbox.com.

    Q: What type of materials can I affix the sticker label to?

    You can affix the sticker label to any surface except metal. Metal interferes with the frequency and may not open The ECHOplus and ECHO Model. The sticker label may not function properly if applied to a mobile phone made of metal or other metal composites.

    Q: : Does The ECHOplus and ECHO Model have USB Ports?

    No, The ECHOplus and ECHO Model does not have USB ports to charge extra accessories.

    Q: Does The Echo contain hydraulic shocks?

    The ECHOplus and ECHO Models do not contain hydraulic shocks. Once activated, the ECHOplus and ECHO Models open slightly in order for the lid to be manually lifted.

    Q: Are The ECHOplus and ECHO Models Portable?

    Yes, The ECHOplus and ECHO models are light enough to take with you while traveling in a car, truck, RV, boat or plane.

    Q: Can The ECHOplus and ECHO Models be used to transport my firearm while flying? How is it considered an approved container?

    The ECHOplus and ECHO Models are FAA/TSA Approved Handgun Containers for Flight. FAA/TSA requirements are as follows: 1. Is a hard-sided container. 2. Must be locked using a secure lock that only the passenger has the key. - 3. Firearm must be completely secure from being accessed by others. The GunBox wristband, ring, or label acts as the key for the locked unit and must be with the passenger at all times FAA/TSA prohibits the carry of a weapon within the airplane cabin. Feel free to contact customer service at CS@thegunbox.com with any other questions. Click here to view all TSA/FAA guidelines: https://www.tsa.gov/travel/transporting-firearms-and-ammunition. State of California Dept. of Justice - http://safetydevice.doj.ca.gov/dsearch2.asp?select=fmake http://mwne.ws/1tr0QbY

    Q: Do you offer a Law Enforcement discount?

    We offer a 10% discount for all law enforcement employees. Please send an email using your official police department email address to info@thegunbox.com or you may send using another email address accompanied with a photo of your ID (if permissible) or other qualifying document. Once verified, we will send you a discount code to enter at checkout.

    Q: Do you offer a Military discount?

    We offer a 10% military discount to all Military employees. Please send an email to info@thegunbox.com using your .MIL account. Once verified, we will send you a discount code to enter at checkout.

    Q: Warranty Period

    The Gunbox will have a warranty period of 1 year from the date the unit is shipped.

    Q: Return Policy

    The return policy will be for a period of 30 days from when the unit ships. Customer will be responsible for return shipping and handling to our facility. The ECHOplus and ECHO Models must be returned back to us in brand new pristine condition. A partial refund will be given if scratched, dented or damaged. An RMA number must be issued in order to return your product. Please email customer service at cs@thegunbox.com to request an RMA number.

  • Q: What assembly is required for the SK-1?

    Please go to our video tutorial section to see the basic assembly of the SK-1

    Q: Where do I go to download the Android or iPhone apps?

    The app can be downloaded on Google Play or Apple App Store as SafeTech (no spaces) The creator name is RPH Engineering. Download the app to get all the features The GunBox 2.0 has to offer.

    Q: What are the dimensions of The SK-1?

    Inside dimensions - "39"x10"x3.5" (99cmX25.4cmX8.9cm)

    Outside dimensions: "42.9"x13.5"x4.5" (109cmX34.2cmX11.4cm)

    Q: Which rifles and shotguns will fit inside the SK-1?

    Most rifles and shotguns will fit inside the SK-1. However, some rifle accessories such as a scope, laser, or long magazines may affect how it fits. We recommend using the SK-1 sizing instructions to make sure your rifle or shotgun will fit.

    Q: What kind of battery does the SK-1 have? How long will a charge last before it needs to be recharged?

    The SK-1 has an internal “RECHARGEABLE” Lithium Polymer battery. The SK-1 charge will normally last 1 year before it will need to be charged again. The charging chord MUST be plugged in to an outlet in order for the Bluetooth speakers to work.

    Q: What RFiD key tags are included with The SK-1?

    Your SK-1 purchase includes 2 RFID Keycards and 2 Fobs, and 1 RFID wristband. Any additional RFID’s: sticker labels and custom rings are available for purchase in the shopping page.

    Q: Will any of the RF accessories on your site be used with multiple GunBoxes?

    Yes, all of our RF accessories: wristband, sticker label, custom ring, keycard, and fob can be used universally with all of our products. The RFID accessory will simply need to be programmed.

    Q: Is the RFID wristband, custom ring, fob, and keycard "waterproof?"

    Yes, our RFID wristband, custom ring, keycard, and fob are waterproof. Feel free to swim, shower, or get them wet.

    Q: How many fingerprints will the SK-1 hold?

    The SK-1 will hold 25 unique fingerprints.

    Q: What type of RF Chip is used with the SK-1?

    The SK-1 uses ISO15693 at13.56Mhz for the tags and reader. These are industry standard tags, but they are not the most common type of RFID technology available. For more information, please contact customer support at cs@thegunbox.com.

    Q: What type of materials can I affix the sticker label to?

    You can affix the sticker label to any surface except metal. Metal interferes with the frequency and may not open The GunBox. The sticker label may not function properly if applied to a mobile phone made of metal or other metal composites.

    Q: Do you offer a Law Enforcement discount?

    We offer a 10% discount for all law enforcement employees. Please send an email using your official police department email address to info@thegunbox.com or you may send using another email address accompanied with a photo of your ID (if permissible) or other qualifying document. Once verified, we will send you a discount code to enter at checkout.

    Q: Do you offer a Military discount?

    We offer a 10% military discount to all Military employees. Please send an email to info@thegunbox.com using your .MIL account. Once verified, we will send you a discount code to enter at checkout.

    Q: Warranty Period

    The SK-1 will have a warranty period of 1 year from the date the unit is shipped.

    Q: Return Policy

    Return policy is for a period of 30 days from when the Gunbox SK-1 ships. Customer will be responsible for return shipping and handling to our facility. The Gunbox SK-1 must be returned in new pristine condition. A 20% restocking fee will apply on all returned Gunbox SK-1 units. Also the Bluetooth password MUST be changed back to the DEFAULT password of 12345678 or a $50.00 reprogramming fee will apply. Please refer to page 10 for instructions on changing a password.

  • For 2.0 Models with a Push-Down Fingerprint Reader (reader will also light up when pressed -- this is a non swipe fingerprint reader)
    Q: How do I set up my GunBox 2.0?

    Please go to our video tutorial section for any questions you have on how to set up your GunBox 2.0.

    Q: Where do I go to download the Android or iPhone apps?

    The app can be downloaded on Google Play or Apple App Store as SafeTech (no spaces) The creator name is RPH Engineering. Download the app to get all the features The GunBox 2.0 has to offer.

    Q: What are the dimensions of The GunBox 2.0?

    GunBox 2.0 Inside dimensions - 8.9in Length x 6.5in W x 1.5in Height

    GunBox 2.0 Outside dimensions: 11.6in Length x 10.0in Width x 2.7in Height

    Q: Which handguns will fit inside The GunBox 2.0?

    Most handguns will fit within The GunBox except for a few larger caliber pistols and some revolvers. We recommend measuring your handgun before purchasing to make sure your firearm will fit.

    Q: What kind of battery does the GunBox have? How long will a charge last before it needs to be recharged?

    The GunBox 2.0 has an internal “RECHARGEABLE” Lithium Polymer battery. The GunBox charge will normally last 1 year before it will need to be charged again.  The GunBox 2.0 includes a power adapter to charge the unit.  The 2.0 comes with 2 USB charging ports as well.  The 2.0 power adapter MUST be plugged in to an outlet in order for the USB ports on the back to function.

    Q: What RFiD key tags are included with The Gunbox 2.0?

    Your GunBox 1.0 purchase includes 2 RFID Keycards and 2 Fobs. Any additional RFID’s: wristbands, sticker labels, and custom rings are available for purchase in the shopping page.

    Q: Will any of the RF accessories on your site be used with multiple GunBoxes?

    Yes, all of our RF accessories: wristband, sticker label, custom ring, keycard, and fob can be used universally with all of our products. The RFID accessory will simply need to be programmed.

    Q: Is the RFID wristband, custom ring, fob, and keycard "waterproof?"

    Yes, our RFID wristband, custom ring, keycard, and fob are waterproof. Feel free to swim, shower, or get them wet.

    Q: What type of material lines the inside of The GunBox 2.0?

    A neoprene type of material is attached to the inside lid and bottom of The GunBox 2.0 in order to prevent scratching and keeps the gun from moving around.

    Q: What material is the wristband made of?

    The wristband is made with medical grade silicone with a hard plastic shell to hold the RFID chip. Metal cannot be used as it interferes with the RFID frequency. The clasp is made of stainless steel.

    Q: How many fingerprints will The GunBox hold?

    The GunBox 2.0 will hold 10 unique fingerprints.

    Q: Can The GunBox 2.0 be mounted?

    Yes, The GunBox 2.0 can be mounted in any orientation using #10 screws. Divots are located in the bottom of The GunBox for this purpose and can be drilled out. A clip has been fabricated to restrict the box from opening more than 45 degrees if mounted upside down or sideways.

    Q. How can The GunBox 2.0 be secured?

    A Kensington Combination Lock has a 6’ cord that can be to wrapped around an immovable object and attaches to The GunBox 2.0 for added security for your home or car.

    Q: What type of RF Chip is used with The GunBox 2.0?

    The Gun Box 2.0 uses ISO15693 at13.56Mhz for the tags and reader. These are industry standard tags, but they are not the most common type of RFID technology available. For more information, please contact customer support at cs@thegunbox.com.

    Q: What type of materials can I affix the sticker label to?

    You can affix the sticker label to any surface except metal. Metal interferes with the frequency and may not open The GunBox. The sticker label may not function properly if applied to a mobile phone made of metal or other metal composites.

    Q: Does The GunBox 2.0 have USB ports?

    The GunBox 2.0 has to be plugged in to charge phones, tablets, or any other products that can be charged with a USB port.

    Q: What is the black clip that was packaged with The GunBox 2.0 and can I mount my GunBox 2.0?

    The clip is used when mounting The GunBox 2.0 upside down or sideways. Push the lid down to a 45 degree angle and snap the clip in the middle hinge. This will keep the lid from fully opening and keep your gun from falling out. The GunBox 2.0 can be mounted in any orientation using #10 screws. Divots are located in the bottom of The GunBox 2.0 for this purpose and can be drilled out.

    Q: Can The GunBox be used to transport my firearm while flying? How is it considered an approved container?

    The GunBox is an FAA/TSA Approved Handgun Container for Flight. FAA/TSA requirements are as follows: 1. Is a hard-sided container. 2. Must be locked using a secure lock that only the passenger has the key. - 3. Firearm must be completely secure from being accessed by others. The GunBox wristband, ring, or label acts as the key for the locked unit and must be with the passenger at all times FAA/TSA prohibits the carry of a weapon within the airplane cabin. Feel free to contact customer service at CS@thegunbox.com with any other questions. Click here to view all TSA/FAA guidelines: https://www.tsa.gov/travel/transporting-firearms-and-ammunition. State of California Dept. of Justice - http://safetydevice.doj.ca.gov/dsearch2.asp?select=fmake http://mwne.ws/1tr0QbY

    Q: Do you offer a Law Enforcement discount?

    We offer a 10% discount for all law enforcement employees. Please send an email using your official police department email address to info@thegunbox.com or you may send using another email address accompanied with a photo of your ID (if permissible) or other qualifying document. Once verified, we will send you a discount code to enter at checkout.

    Q: Do you offer a Military discount?

    We offer a 10% military discount to all Military employees. Please send an email to info@thegunbox.com using your .MIL account. Once verified, we will send you a discount code to enter at checkout.

    Q: Warranty Period

    The Gunbox will have a warranty period of 1 year from the date the unit is shipped.

    Q: Return Policy

    The return policy will be for a period of 30 days from when the unit ships. Customer will be responsible for return shipping and handling to our facility. The GunBox must be returned back to us in brand new pristine condition. A partial refund will be given if scratched, dented or damaged. An RMA number must be issued in order to return your product. Please email customer service at cs@thegunbox.com to request an RMA number.

  • For Echo Models with a Push-Down Fingerprint Reader (reader will also light up when pressed -- this is a non swipe fingerprint reader)
    Q: How do I set up my GunBox Echo?

    Please go to our video tutorial section for any questions you have on how to set up your GunBox Echo.

    Q: Where do I go to download the Android or iPhone apps?

    The app can be downloaded on Google Play or Apple App Store as SafeTech (no spaces) The creator name is RPH Engineering. Download the app to get all the features The GunBox 2.0 has to offer.

    Q: What are the dimensions of The GunBox Echo?

    GunBox Echo inside dimensions: 8.5” Length x 7.25” Width x 2.13” Height

    GunBox Echo outside dimensions: 9.28” Length x 8.13” Width x 2.57” Height

    Q: Which handguns will fit inside The GunBox Echo?

    Most handguns will fit within The GunBox except for a few larger caliber pistols and some revolvers. We recommend measuring your handgun before purchasing to make sure your firearm will fit.

    Q: What kind of battery does the GunBox have? How long will it last?

    The Echo has an internal Lithium Polymer battery. The GunBox will last 1 year before it will need to be charged. The Echo will come with a charging cable. Simply plug the USB end into a USB wall adapter to charge your Echo.

    Q: What RFiD key tags are included with The Gunbox Echo?

    Your Echo purchase includes 2 RFID Keycards and 2 Fobs. Any additional RFID’s: wristbands, sticker labels, and custom rings are available for purchase in the shopping page.

    Q: Will any of the RF accessories on your site be used with multiple GunBoxes?

    Yes, all of our RF accessories: wristband, sticker label, custom ring, keycard, and fob can be used universally with all of our products. The RFID accessory will simply need to be programmed.

    Q: Is the RFID wristband, custom ring, fob, and keycard "waterproof?"

    Yes, our RFID wristband, custom ring, keycard, and fob are waterproof. Feel free to swim, shower, or get them wet.

    Q: What type of material lines the inside of The GunBox Echo?

    A neoprene type of material is attached to the inside lid and bottom of the Echo in order to prevent scratching and keeps the gun from moving around.

    Q: What material is the wristband made of?

    he wristband is made with medical grade silicone with a hard plastic shell to hold the RFID chip. Metal cannot be used as it interferes with the RFID frequency. The clasp is made of stainless steel.

    Q: How many fingerprints will The GunBox hold?

    The GunBox Echo will hold 10 unique fingerprints.

    Q: Can The GunBox Echo be mounted?

    A security tether has a 6’ cord that can be to wrapped around an immovable object and attaches to The Echo for added security for your home or car.

    Q: What type of RF Chip is used with The Echo?

    The Gun Box 2.0 uses ISO15693 at13.56Mhz for the tags and reader. These are industry standard tags, but they are not the most common type of RFID technology available. For more information, please contact customer support at cs@thegunbox.com.

    Q: What type of materials can I affix the sticker label to?

    You can affix the sticker label to any surface except metal. Metal interferes with the frequency and may not open The GunBox. The sticker label may not function properly if applied to a mobile phone made of metal or other metal composites.

    Q: Does The Echo GunBox have USB Ports?

    No, The Echo GunBox does not have USB ports to charge extra accessories.

    Q: Does The Echo contain hydraulic shocks?

    The Echo does not contain hydraulic shocks. Once activated, the Echo opens slightly in order for the lid to be manually lifted.

    Q: Is The Echo Portable

    Yes, The Echo is light enough to take with you while traveling in a car, truck, RV, boat or plane.

    Q: Can The GunBox be used to transport my firearm while flying? How is it considered an approved container?

    The GunBox is an FAA/TSA Approved Handgun Container for Flight. FAA/TSA requirements are as follows: 1. Is a hard-sided container. 2. Must be locked using a secure lock that only the passenger has the key. - 3. Firearm must be completely secure from being accessed by others. The GunBox wristband, ring, or label acts as the key for the locked unit and must be with the passenger at all times FAA/TSA prohibits the carry of a weapon within the airplane cabin. Feel free to contact customer service at CS@thegunbox.com with any other questions. Click here to view all TSA/FAA guidelines: https://www.tsa.gov/travel/transporting-firearms-and-ammunition. State of California Dept. of Justice - http://safetydevice.doj.ca.gov/dsearch2.asp?select=fmake http://mwne.ws/1tr0QbY

    Q: Do you offer a Law Enforcement discount?

    We offer a 10% discount for all law enforcement employees. Please send an email using your official police department email address to info@thegunbox.com or you may send using another email address accompanied with a photo of your ID (if permissible) or other qualifying document. Once verified, we will send you a discount code to enter at checkout.

    Q: Do you offer a Military discount?

    We offer a 10% military discount to all Military employees. Please send an email to info@thegunbox.com using your .MIL account. Once verified, we will send you a discount code to enter at checkout.

    Q: Warranty Period

    The Gunbox will have a warranty period of 1 year from the date the unit is shipped.

    Q: Return Policy

    The return policy will be for a period of 30 days from when the unit ships. Customer will be responsible for return shipping and handling to our facility. The GunBox must be returned back to us in brand new pristine condition. A partial refund will be given if scratched, dented or damaged. An RMA number must be issued in order to return your product. Please email customer service at cs@thegunbox.com to request an RMA number.

  • Q: How do I set up my GunBox 1.0?

    Please go to our video tutorial section for any questions you have on how to set up your GunBox 1.0.

    Q: What are the dimensions of The GunBox 1.0?

    GunBox Inside dimensions - 8.9in Length x 6.5in Width x 1.5in Height

    GunBox 1.0 Outside dimensions: 11.6in Length x 10.0in Width x 2.7in Height

    Q: What RFiD accessories are included with The GunBox?

    The GunBox 1.0 purchase includes 2 RFID Keycards and 2 Fobs. Any additional RFID’s: wristbands, sticker labels, and custom rings are available for purchase in the shopping page.

    Q: Will any of the RF accessories on your site be used with multiple GunBoxes?

    Yes, all of our RF accessories: wristband, sticker label, custom ring, keycard, and fob can be used universally with all of our products. The RFID accessory will simply need to be programmed.

    Q: What material is the wristband made of?

    The wristband is made with medical grade silicone with a hard plastic shell to hold the RFID chip. Metal cannot be used as it interferes with the RFID frequency. The clasp is made of stainless steel.

    Q: What do the three switches on the inside of the GunBox do?

    There are three switches on the lower left hand corner on the lid of the inside of the GunBox 1.0. They are labeled: Audible Alarm, Tracking/Alarm, and Fingerprint + RF. The audible and tracking/alarm must be turned on if you would like to arm your GunBox 1.0. Once switched to the “ON”, it will take 1-2 mins for the alarm to set. If the bottom switch is turned to the “ON” position, it will REQUIRE both your fingerprint and any RF accessory to open. ***IMPORTANT*** Keep the switch “OFF” If you want to use the RF accessories and fingerprint separately. The tracking/alarm is used for other GunBox models and were sent instructions upon purchase.

    Q: Can The GunBox be used to transport my firearm while flying? How is it considered an approved container?

    The GunBox is an FAA/TSA Approved Handgun Container for Flight. FAA/TSA requirements are as follows: 1. Is a hard-sided container. 2. Must be locked using a secure lock that only the passenger has the key. - 3. Firearm must be completely secure from being accessed by others. The GunBox wristband, ring, or label acts as the key for the locked unit and must be with the passenger at all times FAA/TSA prohibits the carry of a weapon within the airplane cabin. Feel free to contact customer service at CS@thegunbox.com with any other questions. Click here to view all TSA/FAA guidelines: https://www.tsa.gov/travel/transporting-firearms-and-ammunition. State of California Dept. of Justice: http://safetydevice.doj.ca.gov/dsearch2.asp?select=fmake http://mwne.ws/1tr0QbY

    Q: Do you offer a Law Enforcement discount?

    We offer a 10% discount for all law enforcement employees. Please send an email using your official police department email address to info@thegunbox.com or you may send using another email address accompanied with a photo of your ID (if permissible) or other qualifying document. Once verified, we will send you a discount code to enter at checkout.

    Q: Do you offer a Military discount?

    We offer a 10% military discount to all Military employees. Please send an email to info@thegunbox.com using your .MIL account. Once verified, we will send you a discount code to enter at checkout.

    Q: Warranty Period

    The Gunbox will have a warranty period of 1 year from the date the unit is shipped.

    Q: Return Policy

    The return policy will be for a period of 30 days from when the unit ships. Customer will be responsible for return shipping and handling to our facility. The GunBox must be returned back to us in brand new pristine condition. A partial refund will be given if scratched, dented or damaged. An RMA number must be issued in order to return your product. Please email customer service at cs@thegunbox.com to request an RMA number.

    Q: Failsafe in case of Electronic Failure

    A "Fail Safe" has been implemented into the GunBox. A small safety screw on the bottom of the GunBox can be removed using the included Allen wrench in a"rare" event the electronics malfunction. Please contact techsupport@thegunbox.com to get the instructional video on how to manually open the unit once the screw has been removed. For an added measure of security, the screw can be inserted from the inside of the GunBox, rendering the unit inaccessible. With the screw in this position, and in the rare event of an electronic failure, the GunBox must be drilled out in order to gain access.

    Q: Which handguns will fit inside The Gunbox?

    Most handguns will fit within The GunBox except for a few larger caliber pistols and some revolvers. We recommend measuring your handgun before purchasing to make sure your firearm will fit.

    Q: Which handguns will fit inside The Gunbox?

    The GunBox includes 2 RFid Key Cards and 2 FOBs. Additional accessories such as wristbands, sticker labels and custom metal rings are available on our accessories page.

    Q: Is the RFID wristband, custom ring, fob, and keycard "waterproof?"

    Yes, our RFID wristband, custom ring, keycard, and fob are waterproof. Feel free to swim, shower, or get them wet.

    Q: What type of material lines the inside of The Gunbox?

    A neoprene type of material to the inside of The GunBox in order to prevent scratching and keeps the gun from moving around.

    Q: What type of materials can I affix the sticker label to?

    The sticker label can be used on any surface except metal. Metal interferes with the frequency and may not open The GunBox 1.0. The sticker label may not function properly if applied to a mobile phone made of metal or other metal composites.

    Q: What is the black clip that was packaged with the GunBox do?

    The clip is used when mounting The GunBox upside down or sideways. Push the lid down to a 45 degree angle and snap the clip in the middle hinge. This will keep the lid from fully opening and keep your gun from falling out.

    Q: What type of RF Chip is used with The GunBox?

    The Gun Box uses ISO15693 at 13.56 Mhz for the tags and reader. These are industry standard tags, but they are not the most common type of RFID technology available. For more information, please contact customer service at techsupport@thegunbox.com.

    Q: What kind of battery does the GunBox have? How long will it last?

    The GunBox 1.0 has an internal Lithium Polymer battery. On a full charge, it should last 7 to 8 hours, when unplugged and the power switch on. It will last up to 3 days if the power switch on the bottom is turned off. Keep in mind, the alarm feature will still be armed if the unit is turned off. Simply turn the power switch “On” and wave your RFID over the emblem or use the Biometric scanner to read your fingerprint.

    Q: Does my unit have an alarm?

    Yes, it has a silent alarm and an audible alarm that will sound when the box is moved.

    Q: How many fingerprints will The GunBox hold?

    The GunBox 1.0 will hold 25 unique fingerprints.

    Q: Does The GunBox Project still need funding?

    We have been successfully funded through the Indiegogo campaign thanks to the generous contributions of our backers. We are in full-scale production now, and are no longer looking for funding to help us move forward. We are working on creating a new video at this time, but the video we currently have is very powerful and explains why and how The GunBox came to fruition.

    Q: Can multiple wristbands or rings be used to open one Gunbox?

    Yes, numerous wristbands or rings can also be programmed to open one box. A good example is one for him and another for her.

    Q: Can The Gunbox be mounted?

    Yes, The GunBox can be mounted in any orientation using #10 screws. Divots are located in the bottom of The GunBox for this purpose and can be drilled out. A clip has been fabricated to restrict the box from opening more than 45 degrees if mounted upside down or sideways.

  • What material is the RFID wristband made of?

    The wristband is made with medical-grade silicone with a plastic cover to protect the RFID chip.

    Metal cannot be used as it interferes with the RFID frequency.

    Is the RFID wristband, custom ring, fob, and keycard "waterproof?"

    Yes, our RFID wristband, custom ring, keycard, and fob are waterproof. Feel free to swim, shower, or get them wet.

    What type of RFID Chip is used with the products?

    Each product we sell uses ISO15693 at a frequency of 13.56Mhz for the tags and reader.

    These are industry standard tags, but they are not the most common type of RFIDs available. For more information, please contact customer support at tech.support@thegunbox.com.

    What type of materials can I affix the RFID sticker to?

    You can affix the RFID sticker to any surface except metal. Metal interferes with the frequency and may not open our products.

    The RFID sticker may not function properly if applied to a mobile phone made of metal or other metal composites.

    Can all of the RFID accessories offered on your site be used with any of the Gunbox products?

    Yes, all RFID accessories sold on our website (wristband, sticker, ring, keycard, and key fob) are compatible with all Gunbox products.

    All separately purchased RFID accessories will not come pre-programmed into your product; you will need to program them once you receive the new RFID accessory.

    Is one RFID accessory able to be programmed into multiple Gunbox products?

    Yes, one RFID accessory can be programmed into multiple Gunbox products.

    All separately purchased RFID accessories will not come pre-programmed into your Gunbox product; you will need to program them once you receive the new RFID accessory.

    *The RFID sticker may not function properly if applied to a mobile phone made of metal or other metal composites.

    What tether/security cable do I use with the Echo?

    The correct security cable for the Gunbox Echo is the Tether Cable.

    The Tether Cable is for the Gunbox Echo and is not compatible with the 2.0 model.

    What tether/security cable do I use with the 2.0? 

    The correct security cable for the Gunbox 2.0 is the Kensington Cable.

    The Kensington Cable is for the Gunbox 2.0 only and is not compatible with the Echo model.

    I ordered the wrong Tether/Kensington Cable, how do I return it?

    It does happen from time to time. Please let us know at tech.support@thegunbox.com so we’re able to get an RMA for exchange taken care of for you.

    As soon as we receive your original tether back, we’ll create a new order, and either refund you the difference or send an invoice for the new Tether/Kensington Cable. As soon as payment is received, we’ll send the new Tether/Kensington Cable out to you right away.

    Are the RFID accessories waterproof?

    All RFID accessories are waterproof, except the RFID sticker.

    Do the RFID accessories need a battery?

    No, our RFID accessories do not need a battery source to function.